Posted by: Bekah | December 31, 2008

You as Jeff Buckley, the Gladiator

Dear Rob,

Did you hear? You’re going to be starring in a film as a gladiator in the form of Jeff Buckley. Jeff Buckley

“Robert Pattinson may take the role as Jeff Buckley in a Gladiator-style period movie as he is said to be in discussion with movie producers. (source & source)”

Wait, this is odd and sounds like an awful movie. Let me research what you really said:

“It’s amusing to find myself in the same conversation as stars like Shia LaBeouf for a role in a Gladiator-style period film. I hope for the chance to play Jeff Buckley in the film of his life though I imagine the role will go to James Franco because he looks so much like him.”

Wouldn't you want to attend this Gladiator's musical performance?

Wouldn't you want to attend this Gladiator's musical performance?

Okay.. um, where in that did you say you’re going to play the gladiator version of Jeff Buckley?  I think someone REALLY misunderstood you.. unless, well, let me think about this: Will you be on stage, in full-gear singing “Lover, you should’ve come over” to a damsal in distress? Or perhaps you’ll be singing “Hallelujah (I’ve beat my opponent and he is now dead)”

HA! This was some great hilarity to come home to after a long day.

And people, if you don’t know who Jeff Buckley is- download “Hallelujah” RIGHT NOW.

Also, James Franco may look exactly like Buckley, but I’d do ANYTHING to hear you cover Hallelujah (and I hate when anyone covers that song.. (yes, I realize Jeff Buckley covered that song)).

Broken down and hungry for your love
With no way to feed it
Where are you tonight? …
So I’ll wait for you… And I’ll burn
Will I ever see your sweet return?
Oh, will I ever learn?
Oh, Lover, you should’ve come over
Cause it’s not too late.

Responses

  1. you know that popular roman gladiator named JEFF. duh. 😀

    yea im with you i know it’s a leonard cohen song but jeff MADE that song. i HATE when anyone covers it but i’d totally make an exception for rob to play him in a biopic and sing that song. just so i could cry in public at a movie theater

  2. Or maybe Rob could do the voice of Shrek’s little brother in the next movie and then he could sing it….and… I know…I’m bored!

  3. You seriously don’t like the Rufus Wainwright version? :::sigh::: I guess we can agree to disagree…

  4. Okay, I just listened to the song again (Hallelujah) and I think I may die and go to heaven if I got to hear Rob sing the words “remember when I moved in you, the holy dark was moving too”.

    P.S. Can you tell I’m slowly making my way back through your posts? Hope you don’t mind my random comments.

    • @Leigh MIND random comments! Oh no!! not at all! i see you have a blog.. i PROMISE to check out.. when i’m back from the wedding extravaganza i’m at 🙂

  5. My blog has a decidedly different “feeling” than this blog. You know, since my family knows about it. I’m TOTALLY working on a fan letter to send you guys. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

